Wattpad Experience

wattpad

Three more months and I’d be celebrating my first anniversary at writing over at Wattpad.com.

For those of you who doesn’t know, Wattpad is an online community centered around people who write and people who read. No matter who you are and where you’re from, as long as you have an internet connection, you can write about anything you want and, if you’re the “reader” type, I can assure you that you’ll find something that will interest you.

To cut the long story short, my Wattpad experience has been pleasing so far. With an almost 40,000 reads for my serial-novel, I now have my fair share of followers and I don’t intend to brag but, though I update in a very erratic manner (everyday to once a month), I always enter the top rankings whenever I update which is nice considering the hundred thousand novels already posted on the site. My highest ranking ever was #22 and #25 in the Adventure and Fiction genres respectively.

Sadly, like any other good thing, Wattpad also has its off side. Though I didn’t have the same experience, I saw many user complain about how impossible for their story to be included in the rankings as being excluded from the rankings means you’d have to wait for days to see your story have more than ten reads.

Being in the rankings kind of seems like a paradox. Once you get in it, you’ll have a descent readership following and whenever you post a new story, these “followers” would most likely read it, giving you a super boost to propel your story in the rankings. The only thing that made me reach the rankings in no time was because I’ve made a lot of friends over the internet who were more than willing to give my story a try. Thank God for my very supportive anime community buddies!

Another thing that was bothering me about the site were the uncalled for comments. These were something I experienced.

It would make a lot of sense if the hate comments I got were directed towards my grammar but no, people most of the time complained of the most absurd things. My story involved magic and they were complaining about the use latin words for spells because, according to them, no one uses them anymore. I just left them to their own devices since a read’s a read and every comment was important to maintain my rankings.

All in all, Wattpad is a great place. Its upside outweighs the downside by a great degree. Where else can you post your stories that has a lot of existing active readers and writers? And with a pretty simple interface that let’s you interact with a lot of people, whether you are a writer or reader, it really is an amazing place.

Actually, as a personal note, I am very grateful for Wattpad. The readers and friends I’ve met on the site gave me all the courage I need to push through with the publishing of my first book which would be out on Amazon.com in a couple of days.

So if you’re a budding and aspiring writer like me and can take LOTS of harsh comments, Wattpad is definitely the place to be. Trust me, I’ve tried almost every other site.

Leave a Reply

